Lecture by Kristin Vala Ragnarsdottir "New approaches for Sustainable Development"

22 May 2012 year

This lecture is a review of the 20th century trends and of the future of those we see today. It also includes a separate study of today's national policies and international agreements and explains why these measures fail to achieve their aims. 

The 20th century was marked by important changes. A realistic review of today’s state of affairs shows that the 20th century saw an exponential growth in most of the industries, which lead to the depletion of fossil resources and to the peak of everything. In addition, humanity has become a real geological force, which has contributed immensely to its ecological footprint causing us to violate many of our planet's limits. 
 
The lecture also explains a new economic development paradigm, proposed by Bhutan to the United Nations in 2012. The paradigm is based on four pillars: Happiness and Well-being, Ecological Wellness, Distribution of Wealth, Efficient Use of Resources.   
 
The video of the lecture by Kristín Vala Ragnarsdóttir, Professor at Institute for Sustainable Development and Institute of Earth Sciences at the University of Iceland, which took place at the lecture hall of the Polytechnic museum on May 22, 2012. 
 
Video of Lecture at Infox.ru

Лекция Кристин Валы Рагнарсдоттир "Новые подходы к Устойчивому развитию"

22 мая 2012 года

В своей лекции Кристин Вала сфокурировалась на рассмотрении трендов 20-го века и продолжение существующих тенденций. Отдельно рассмотрены современные национальные политики и международные соглашения и почему эти меры не достигают поставленных целей. 

В 20-м веке произошли значительнейшие изменения. Реалистичная оценка текущей ситуации показывает, что в 20-м веке произошел экспоненциальный рост в большинстве отраслей, вызвавший исчерпание ископаемых ресурсов и «пик всего» (peak of everything), а также то, что человек стал реальной геологической силой, значительно увеличив экологический футпринт человечества, что вызвало выход за планетарные границы по многим параметрам. 
 
На лекции также представлена новая экономическая парадигма развития, предложенная Бутаном на встрече ООН в 2012 году, которая базируется на 4 основных столпах: Счастье и Благополучие, Экологическое здоровье, Распределение богатства, Эффективное использование ресурсов. 
 
Видeо лекции от наших партнеров Infox.ru
 
Фотографии лекции на странице ИМИ в Facebook
 
Интервью с Кристин Валой Рагнарсдоттир на сайте Общественной Палаты РФ (автор Наталия Белова).